Governance Model

With 12 municipalities, all with their own unique transit situations, we want to make sure that the new system meets the needs of residents in smaller municipalities, as well as the larger ones.

The proposed model is built upon a transitional Commission Board with proportional representation from all Niagara municipalities. While the detailed composition of this board is still being determined, all municipalities will have a voice, and representatives could be either Regional or local municipal councillors.

Complementing the Commission Board will be a 20-member Advisory Board made up of Niagara residents, post-secondary institutions, business groups, and others, ensuring those people have a direct say in the future of consolidated transit.

After several years there would be an external review to determine if this model is the right one, and whether any adjustments are needed.